Oats are safe for more than 99% of celiac patients. There is however the extremely rare one who does react to oats. The fact that this gentleman also reacts to lentils seem to me a good reason to suspect his gut does not agree too much with fibers (or, to use a more fashionable and… Read more »(Updated .)
Oats contain avenin and prolamin, and gluten is a prolamin, right?
Prolamins are defined as proteins extractable in aqueous ethanol. The prolamins from wheat contain gliadins (or gluten); the prolamins from oats do not.(Updated .)
Do oats contain gluten?
A large body of scientific evidence accumulated over more than 15 years has proven that oats are completely safe for the vast majority of celiac patients. Oats are not related to gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley and rye. They don’t contain gluten, but rather proteins called avenins that are non-toxic and tolerated by most… Read more »(Updated .)