Celiac
Answer Bank

Frequently Asked Questions

Q

Is vinegar safe for those with celiac disease?

Vinegar is a solution made of acetic acid and flavoring materials such as apples, grapes, grain and molasses. For example, cider vinegar is made from apple juice; malt vinegar is made from barley malt, Balsamic vinegar is made from grapes. Distilled vinegars (including vinegars in foods and condiments) are gluten-free because the distillation process filters out the large gluten proteins so they do not pass through to the end product making the finished liquid gluten free. Patients with celiac disease should not be concerned about distilled white vinegar or foods such as pickles, which may contain it. The exception to this rule is malt vinegar, which is not distilled, and therefore is not safe to consume. Vinegar as defined by the US Food & Drug Administration:

  • Vinegar, Cider Vinegar, Apple Vinegar: made from juice of apples
  • Wine Vinegar, Grape Vinegar: made from juice of grapes
  • Malt Vinegar: infusion of barley malt or cereals that have been converted to malt
  • Spirit Vinegar, Distilled Vinegar, Grain Vinegar: dilute distilled alcohol
    May, 2013

A
Keywords: ,