Celiac
Answer Bank

Frequently Asked Questions

Q

Can someone with celiac disease drink red wine? I’ve heard that some manufacturers seal their barrels with a gluten-containing ingredient.

We don’t recommend avoiding wine. Wines fermented in barrels lined with wheat paste (historically wines such as port, Madeira and muscatel) have been questionable, yet are unlikely to contain enough gluten to cause a reaction. April, 2013

A