Answer Bank

Frequently Asked Questions


Are distilled beverages made with a prohibited grain (wheat, rye, barley) safe for celiacs?

Only specific gluten-free beers (Bard’s Tale, New Grist, Green’s, Redbridge, to name a few) are appropriately gluten free. As for pure spirits, (vodka, gin, scotch), the distillation process makes these beverages safe because the protein is removed. However, flavored spirits may contain malt, and should be avoided. August, 2012

Keywords: , ,